Reviews

Praise for The Better Son http://www.venturapress.com.au/the-better-son-katherine-johnson/

‘The Better Son maps an emotional landscape as shifting and precarious as the limestone country so splendidly evoked here. Katherine Johnson is a sure-footed guide to lives hollowed out by secrets that reach deep into the past’ Michelle de Kretser, winner Miles Franklin Literary Award 2013

‘A gripping story of loss, trauma and the devastating impact of family secrets, The Better Son is a literary thriller that haunts the reader well beyond its final page’ Rachel Power, author of Creativity and Motherhood: The Divided Heart

‘A fabulous read: moving, haunting, at times devastating, redemptive, and so evocative of the Mole Creek area’ Vern Field, editor of Island Magazine

‘Fans of Alex Miller and Michelle de Kretser will enjoy this deep and imaginative story with nuanced and relatable characterisation’ Hannah Cartmel, Books + Publishing

Reviews of Pescador’s Wake

‘Katherine Johnson’s debut novel is much like the icebergs that threaten both vessels. Perfectly crafted crystalline prose dazzles on the surface while intricately woven characters and their stories explore the unknown depths of heartache and betrayal, love and resilience.’ Goodreading magazine, February 2009

‘It’s all about the characters. Pescador’s Wake is equal parts drama, thriller, adventure, romance and documentary- and it works. It’s going to be a handseller’s delight, and might just be a surprise hit. I thoroughly recommend it.’ Bookseller and Publisher magazine, Dec-March

‘Johnson shows the beginnings of substantial talent’ Sun-Herald, February 15 2009

‘There are passages of real tension and Johnson’s descriptions of the sea and the weather and the groaning boats shiver with authenticity. In the pitch of phrase and the surge of sentence there are moments of deep beauty.’ Spectrum magazine (Sydney Morning Herald), Jan 31-Feb 1, 2009

‘It is this aspect of detailing the family’s lives on shore as well as showing the extreme elements of the sea, and the accompanying excitement, risk and danger, that has already prompted comparisons with Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm.’ Courier Mail, Jan 10-11, 2009

‘It augurs well for the future that Johnson has written an informed, intelligent, sympathetic and resonant novel to begin what will surely be a long career as an author.’ Sunday Tasmanian, Jan 11, 2009

‘An impressive debut—a confident and suspenseful page-turner with engaging characters, a skillfully orchestrated suite of plots and an important message gracefully and memorably conveyed.’ The Advertiser Review, Jan 24, 2009

‘From the first pages, this debut novel stands out for its subject matter: deep-sea fishery …The novel balances the sea story and the artistic novel; a different novelist would have swashbuckled, or made more of the crime suspense. Johnson instead draws lives, ordinary people drawn into exceptional circumstance. Like most debuts, it promises much for the next book. Unlike most debuts, it is ambitious and unusual.’ The Sunday Age ‘M’ Supplement, Jan 18, 2009

‘Johnson, in her use of multiple perspectives, and in the clarity and ease of her writing, has managed to produce something much more character-focused, and inherently more enticing.’ Canberra Times, Jan 3, 2009

‘A good solid read’ The Australian, Jan 3-4, 2009

‘A talented first novel’ The Age, Dec 26-27, 2008

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *